Modern First Editions
Need help? Call 01943 608596 or contact us

Sinfonie 1-7 [Symphonies 38-41; 35, 36, 9]

Sinfonie 1-7 [Symphonies 38-41; 35, 36, 9]  by MOZART, Wolfgang Amadeus [William Sterndale Bennett] (1850)
Author: MOZART, Wolfgang Amadeus [William Sterndale Bennett]
Title: Sinfonie 1-7 [Symphonies 38-41; 35, 36, 9]
Year: 1850
Publisher: Breitkopf and Hartel
Place: Leipzig; Germany
Dust Jacket: No
Signed: Yes
Price: £650
Buy over the phone - call 01943 608596
Postage (UK): £0
Postage (Europe): £0
Postage (Worldwide): £0
Added under Signed and inscribed  

Owned and annotated by the English Mozart afficionado, composer and teacher, William Sterndale Bennett: seven of Mozart's symphonies including the final four great works in the form together with the Haffner and Linz symphonies.

The seven separate imprints have been bound in two small folio volumes with heavily embossed foliate decoration to the brown cloth binding. Sterndale Bennett has inscribed each of the title pages which suggests that he acquired the imprints separately and then commissioned the binding. Both volumes show later strengthening to the inner hinges. Sterndale Bennett's book plate appears on both front pastedowns with offsetting opposite. There is light browning to endpapers but the engraved music is printed on thick paper which is in very good condition. The title pages show the publisher's circular stamp as well as Sterndale Bennett's ownership stamp and in the case of the Jupiter Symphony, the stamp of the music retailer 'Boosey and Co 28 Holles Street, Oxford' with Sterndale Bennett's annotation: 'In England called "Jupiter"'. In the gutter between the symphonies can be seen the remnants of the blue paper wrappers which were removed at the time of binding.

The seven symphonies are lightly annotated by Sterndale Bennett with some rehearsal numbers, his occasional querying of the printed notation and at the end of the first volume a page of writing and musical notation in Sterndale Bennett's hand which sets out the ranges required of the woodwind instruments. Symphony Number 40 is carefully annotated at page 37 where Sterndale Bennett has struck out a section with the explanation 'These first 4 bars were intended by Mozart to be omitted having rewritten them (vide next 4) with different instrumentalists.' Symphony Number 39 is prefaced by a pencil note which appears to read: 'Pla'd April 3/ 65' Laid in is a note about the symphonies on 'Maingertoun Cottage, Foxrock, Co. Dublin' headed paper which is not in Sterndale Bennett's hand.

The symphonies are bound as follow:

Volume I

Symphony 38, Prague;
Symphony 40 G Minor
Symphony 39 Eb

Volume II

Symphony 41 Jupiter
Symphony 35 Haffner
Symphony 36 Linz
Symphony 9 D Major

William Sterndale Bennett was one of the most influential English composers, conductors and music educator of the nineteenth century. He served as Professor of Music at Cambridge and then became Director of the Royal Academy. He had a special enthusiasm for the works of Mendelssohn, Beethoven but above all Mozart.
Enquire about this book, buy this book securely online now or call 01943 608596 for help and information.
a. 287 Leeds Road, Ilkley, Yorkshire, LS29 8LL
t. 01943 608596 • e.
© 2020 Modern First Editions
All rights reserved