Modern First Editions
Need help? Call 01943 608596 or contact us

Concerto for Orchestra [Davis' annotated score]

Concerto for Orchestra [Davis' annotated score] by DARNTON, Christopher [Colin Davis] (1973)

[+] View more images

Author: DARNTON, Christopher [Colin Davis]
Title: Concerto for Orchestra [Colin Davis Score]
Year: 1973
Publisher: N/A
Place: N/A
Dust Jacket: No
Signed: No
Price: £125
Buy over the phone - call 01943 608596
Postage (UK): £0
Postage (Europe): £0
Postage (Worldwide): £0
Added under Signed and inscribed  

Colin Davis' conductor's score of Darnton's Concerto for Orchestra which he premiered in 1976, annotated throughout. Note to upper cover ‘Property of Christian Darnton’ and annotated elaborately by Davis for performance with tempi markings in pencil to cover, time signatures, phrasing, dynamics, pauses etc. The score itself is a photocopy of the composer's manuscript in a glued binding which is beginning to fail with many detached pages.

This score is from a large collection of scores that belonged to the conductor Sir Colin Davis, many annotated and used in performance, almost all from the post-war period and including at least two examples of scores from which he conducted the work's premier: Thea Musgrave's Clarinet Concerto (Davis was himself originally a clarinettist by training) and Malcolm Williamson's The Stone Wall which Davis premiered at the Last Night of the Proms in September 1971. Most of the scores are full size performance versions, several including this one very large indeed in order to accommodate the scoring of a post-Schoenberg orchestra. Davis achieved global recognition for his conducting with a particular enthusiasm for the music of Mozart, Berlioz, Elgar, Sibelius, Stravinsky and Tippett.
Enquire about this book, buy this book securely online now or call 01943 608596 for help and information.
a. 287 Leeds Road, Ilkley, Yorkshire, LS29 8LL
t. 01943 608596 • e.
© 2019 Modern First Editions
All rights reserved